Sign in to follow this  
Whisky Bob

Dev live stream from a new player's perspective.

Hello,Ā 
I am fairly new to Atlas,Ā my buddies and I started this high-seas adventure about a month ago. In that time we were having a blast and were under the impression that this game is having a bright future despite its current population crisis. When I have heard the news about the new lead designer I was all hyped up. I was waiting for the upcoming dev stream like crazy - after all, you have marketed this stream as if it was the Second Coming of Jesus.

I was feeling the incoming "wind of change" to the point I have decided to participate in the forum thread collecting questions from the player base, in that thread it was the first time I realized how many issues this game has and I saw some real, constructive and important questions being asked there - for sure they will make it to Wednesday's Stream,Ā after all the new lead designer would be reason enough to touch on the current state of the game.Ā 

"THE Stream" finallyĀ happened and my naive hope for this project going "full speed ahead" died along with it. Seriously, last time I have seen such a question-dodging non-answer vague dev stream was in the early Elder Scrolls Online days and that nearly killed the game (but Zenimax Online Studios has a massive financial backing and tons of developers onĀ payroll so they eventually recovered, I sincerely doubt you guys have such resources).Ā 

You know that situation when you are working at a corporate office, and they force you to do some bullshit presentation meeting or you will be excluded from "Granola Fridays" for a month? So you come up with some bullshit pie-chart about "Vertical integration of best collaborative practices" or some other non-topic nobody cares about? This is what this dev stream was.Ā